Section 2 is one of the eleven sections of the NYSPHSAA. It is made up of high schools from around New York’s Capital Region. The schools in the section compete with each other in athletic competition. The section is further divided into leagues based on both location and  the size of the school. The schools in the section compete with each other over the course of three seasons, fall, winter, and spring.


The section is made up of 9 leagues primarily based on location but also based on size to ensure fair competition. Teams compete with the other schools in their league and will also compete with schools outside of it. Upon completion of their league schedules, teams will compete in the Section 2 tournament against schools of like size to determine the Section 2 Class champions. Those class champions then advance to the state tournament representing Section 2 against the winners from the other 10 sections to determine the NYS Champion.  The following is the list of leagues with their member schools.

Adirondack League


Colonial Council

Foothills Council

Patroon Conference

Suburban Council


Western Athletic Conference